Who can apply for a Pleiades Award?

Any research organisation, institute, joint venture, centre of excellence, university school, department or other body located in Australia or New Zealand that employs members of the ASA in an activity related to astronomy may be deemed eligible to apply for a Pleiades Award. The current ‘list of eligible organisations’ is included below.

If an organisation contains more than one group to which ASA members are affiliated, then all such groups are eligible to apply. For example, The University of Sydney includes both the School of Physics and Sydney Institute for Astronomy. In this case, either the School of Physics or the Sydney Institute for Astronomy (or both) are eligible to apply. However, in such cases, co-ordination within the organisation is highly desirable. Questions about eligibility should be directed to the Chair of the Chapter.

Applications to join the list of eligible organisations can be made at any time. Requests should be addressed in writing to the chair of the ASA’s IDEA Chapter and signed by the head of the organisation.

List of eligible organisations

Astronomy Australia Limited
The Australian Astronomical Observatory
ANU (Mount Stromolo and Siding Spring Observatory)
CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science
Curtin University (Curtin Institute for Radio Astronomy)
Macquarie University (Dept. of Physics and Astronomy)
Monash University (Monash Centre for Astrophysics)
Sydney Observatory
Swinburne University (Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing)
The University of Adelaide (School of Chemistry & Physics)
The University of Melbourne (School of Physics, Astrophysics)
The University of New South Wales (Department of Astrophysics and Optics)
The University of Queensland (School of Mathematics and Physics)
The University of Southern Queensland (Astrophysics Group)
The University of Sydney (SIfA)
The University of Tasmania (School of Maths and Physics)

The University of Auckland (Department of Physics)
The University of Western Australia ()
The University of Western Sydney (School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics)