ASA award recipients

The ASA awards a range of prestigious prizes, including the Bok Prize for outstanding research in astronomy by an Honours student; the Charlene Heisler Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis in Astronomy or a closely related field; the Louise Webster Prize (introduced in 2009) for outstanding research by a scientist early in their post-doctoral career; the Anne Green Prize for a significant advance or accomplishment by a mid-career scientist (introduced in 2018); the David Allen Prize for exceptional achievement in astronomy communication; and the Robert Ellery Lectureship in recognition of outstanding contributions in astronomy or a related field. Nominations for ASA prizes are also broken down by gender here.

The current percentage of ASA prizes awarded to women are as follows: Bok Prize: 36 % ; Charlene Heisler prize: 25% ; Louise Webster Prize: 33%; the Anne Green Prize: 50%; David Allen Prize: 0%; Robert Ellery Lectureship: 15%.

The Bok Prize

Year Recipient Gender
2019 Sam Cree male
2018 Matthew Keen male
2017 Madeline Marshall female
2016 Samuel Hinton male
2015 Shyeh Tjing (Cleo) Loi female
2014 Ross Turner male
2013 Ben Pope male
2012 Alison Hammond female
2011 Barnaby Norris male
2010 Madusha Gunawardhana female
2009 Peter Jensen male
2008 Christopher Hales male
2007 Katie Dodds-Eden female
2006 Brent Miszalski male
2005 Patrick Scott male
2004 Stanislav Shabala male
2003 Darren Croton male
2002 (not awarded)
2001 Yeshe Fenner female
2000 Josephine Brown female
1999 Michael Murphy male
1998 Malcolm Kennett male
1997 Jean-Pierre Macquart male
1996 Lisa Kewley female
1995 Michael Brown male
1994 Arthur Street male
1993 Sally Houghton female
1992 Kylie Waring female
1991 Neal Turner male
1990 Robert Reinfrank male
1989 Andrew Gray male
  Percentage of female recipients 36%

The Charlene Heisler Prize

Year Recipient Gender
2019 Adam Thomas male
2018 Anish Amarsi male
2017 Paul Stewart male
2016 Vikram Ravi male
2015 Morag Scrimgeour female
2014 Justin Bray male
2013 Emily Wisniosky female
2012 Anthony van Eysden male
2011 Max Spolaor male
2010 Adam Deller male
2009 Brendon Brewer male
2008 Simon Campbell male
2007 Anna Frebe female
2006 Michael Ireland male
  Percentage of female recipients: 25%

The Louise Webster prize

Year Recipient Gender
2019 Shivani Bhandari female
2018 Emily Wisnioski female
2017 Keith Bannister male
2016 David Nicholls male
2015 Madusha Gunawardhana female
2014 Simon Campbell male
2013 Andy Green male
2012 Sean Farrell male
2011 Gayandhi De Silva female
2010 Michael Ireland male
2009 Tamara Davis female
  Percentage of female recipients: 33%

The Anne Green Prize

Year Recipient Gender
2019 Mark Krumholz male
2018 Barbara Catinella female
  Percentage of female recipients: 50%

The David Allen Prize:

Year Recipient Gender
2018 ABC Stargazing Live Team
2015 Swinburne Astronomy Productions (3 man team)
2012 Charlie Lineweaver male
2009 Martin George male
2003 Fred Watson male
2001 Jonathon Nally male
  Percentage of female recipients: 0 %

The Robert Ellery Lectureship

Year Recipient Gender
2019 Matthew Bailes male
2017 Warrick Couch male
2015 Elaine Sadler female
2013 Rachel Webster female
2011 Russell Cannon male
2009 Jeremy Mould male
2007 Mike Bessell male
2005 John Davis male
2003 Don Melrose male
2001 Ken Freeman male
1999 John Storey male
1997 Ron Ekers male
1995 Dick Hunstead male
1993 Dick Manchester male
1991 Don Mathewson male
  Percentage of female recipients: 15 %